Hols time

I was determined to have a break so I took my two aged 4 and 7 off to sunny North Wales. Miles of lovely sand and rolling waves plus endless sunshine…perfect.

Endless amounts of ice-cream and copious castle making, running wild and free.

This was the first time, since my wife abandoned us a year ago, that my daughter has smiled. It made me want to cry (but I didn’t). My son ran about like a mad thing and told me he loved me, lots of times!

There are of course, lots of us who have to work or sign on and so can’t do as I have. Work comes before children’s emotional and mental development in the government, jobcentre and employer philosophy it seems. Of course time off for vacation might be arranged but I wonder how many of us find it difficult?

I was fortunate it seems because the children are young. I was informed that many guest houses and hotels are suspicious of the dad with daughter when she reaches about ten. They apparently require a separate room for the girl.

Not so if a single mum travels with son of ten years though. I wonder how true this is?

My two woke early (5.30am) on the first day. All excited I gave up and we went out for a walk on the deserted beach. Sheer heaven. Just us and the wind and waves.

A dog walker asked us if we were all right. I queried his odd question.
‘It’s unusual that’s all,’ he said and moved on , his dog having urinated all over the children’s castle.

Not five mins later we had resumed our stroll along the prom when a POLICE car drove up and an officer got out to question us.

They had received a ‘phone call from the dog walker.
He was clearly suspicious…man with two children, one of whom was a girl.
He was OK though. Happy with our holiday arrangements, thankfully.
I was sorry because I did not know we were not allowed to walk the beach in the early morning. He assured me we could.
Nice chap. Especially when I mentioned the dogs illegally pooing and weeing on the beach.
‘Council workers not out yet,’ he grinned and that was that.

We enjoyed seeing Monsters University, riding the mini train, sea and sand, Rhuddlan castle, Colwyn Bay Mountain Zoo and being made to feel at home everywhere.

A very restful few days. I felt ill at the thought of returning to the valley of no employment and no hope. Four hour trip home and my daughter wept four times at the thought of it.

What would make it work…to find a job in this area and being able to move here (so would an EX willing to sign over her half of the equity AND reasonable house prices!!)

But I worry too about my daughter’s emotional health, what would make it work for her would be a mum to give cuddles. I don’t fit the bill no matter what I do.

Leave a comment